FIFA to decide on Kuwait, Indonesia voting bans

FIFA’s executive committee will decide next week whether Kuwait and Indonesia will be able to vote in the FIFA presidential election on February 26.

Kuwait and Indonesia were suspended by FIFA in October 2015 and May 2015 respectively after both countries breached FIFA’s rules on government interference in the sport. As a result, Indonesia were ruled out of the 2018 World Cup qualifying campaign, while Kuwait, who were banned for the same reason in 2007 and 2008, were recently made to forfeit a match against Myanmar.

The participation of the two nations in the presidential election will now be decided at an executive committee meeting on February 24. It is not clear whether Kuwait’s Sheikh Ahmad, a member of the executive committee member, will attend the meeting. 

Should FIFA uphold the voting bans, there will still be 207 federations eligible to vote during the election next Friday.

The five candidates set to stand in the election are: Former South African government minister Tokyo Sexwale, UEFA Secretary General Gianni Infantino, FIFA vice-president and Jordanian Prince Ali Bin Al Hussein, former-FIFA secretary general Jerome Champagne and president of the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Sheikh Salman bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa.