McGregor, Holm win awards at ESPYs

Reigning UFC featherweight champion Conor McGregor and former women’s bantamweight champion Holly Holm took home awards at the 2016 ESPY on Wednesday night in Los Angeles.

McGregor claimed the Best Fighter award as he defeated Dennis Siver, Chad Mendes and featherweight champion Jose Aldo in 2015. McGregor’s bout with Aldo was the highlight of the Irishman’s year as he knocked out the Brazilian in 13 seconds to claim the featherweight belt.

McGregor held off competition from Gennady Golovkin, Canelo Alvarez, Roman Gonzalez and UFC welterweight champion Robbie Lawler to win the award.

The 28-year-old was also nominated for Best Breakthrough Athlete, but lost out to Chicago Cubs pitcher Jake Arrieta.

Holm, meanwhile, clinched the Best Upset award for knocking out Ronda Rousey and ending her unbeaten run in the UFC in the second round of their bout at UFC 193 in November last year. Holm’s victory also saw her become the new women’s bantamweight champion.


The other nominees for the award were Roberta Vinci, who defeated Serena Williams in the semi-finals of the US Open last year, and Middle Tennessee State, who stunned Michigan State in the NCAA Men’s Division I basketball tournament.

Holm’s head kick that knocked out Rousey was also nominated for Best Play, but Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers’ game-winning touchdown pass to Richard Rodgers against the Detroit Lions was adjudged to be better.