India face tough opposition in Cup

The event has five matches in every round – men and women's singles, men and women's doubles and mixed doubles.

India will depend heavily on singles players like World No. 4 Kidambi Srikanth, 12th ranked Parupalli Kashyap, World No. 2 Saina Nehwal, No. 9 P V Sindhu and 2011 World Championship bronze medallists Jwala Gutta and Ashwini Ponnappa to reach the knock out stage.

Defending champions China are in Group 1A with Germany and Thailand and should advance easily. China have dominated the event in the past winning it nine times out of a possible thirteen.

The top 12 teams in Group 1 have been split into four sub-groups. Japan, winners of the Thomas Cup and runners-up in the Uber Cup, are in Group 1B with Chinese Taipei and USA, while Group 1C might well be the 'Group of Death' as it has three strong teams in Denmark, former champions Indonesia and England.

Teams in Group 1 will play two stages: group play-off followed by knockout. The top two teams from each sub-group will qualify for the knock-out. 

The Sudirman Cup for the World Mixed Team Championships features 35 teams divided into four groups. Of these, the top 12 ranked teams in Group 1 will vie for the trophy, while the other teams (Group 2, Group 3, Group 4) will fight for ranking spots.

Here are the groups for the Sudirman Cup:

Group 1:
Group 1A: China, Thailand, Germany
Group 1B: Japan, Chinese Taipei, USA
Group 1C: Denmark, Indonesia, England
Group 1D: Korea, India, Malaysia

Group 2:
Group 2A: Russia, Hong Kong China, Canada, Spain
Group 2B: Singapore, Netherlands, France, Brazil

Group 3:
Group 3A: Czech Republic, Turkey, South Africa, Austria
Group 3B: Vietnam, Australia, Italy, Switzerland

Group 4:
Group 4A: Nigeria, Philippines, Iceland
Group 4B: Israel, Sri Lanka, Seychelles, Kazakhstan.