Axelsen wins India Open

Viktor Axelsen downed Chou Tien Chen 21-13, 21-10 in the final of the Indian Open to win the event for the first time in his career.

The men’s final, played in New Delhi at the Siri Fort Sports Complex, only lasted 36 minutes as Denmark’s Axelsen was simply too good for Taiwan’s Chen.

The encounter started with both players reluctant to give anything away.

After 10 points, the score was locked at 5-5. However, thereafter Axelsen took control as he started working Chen around the court.

In the blink of an eye he stormed into a one game advantage, claiming 16 of the next 24 points.

In the second game Chen struggled with his returns while Axelsen imposed his will on the game by being entirely dominant at the net.

The result was an extremely one-sided final game that Axelsen won 21-10.

The victory means Axelsen is now an Indian Open champion for the first time in his career, after being a losing finalist in both 2015 and 2016.

In the women’s final PV Sindhu avenged her Rio defeat against Carolina Marin in style with a thumping 21-19, 21-16 victory over the top seed Spaniard.

In the mixed-doubles final, the defending champions Lu Kai and Huang Yaqiong beat Chinese compatriots Zheng Siwei and Chen Qingchen 22-24, 21-14, 21-17.

In the all-Japanese women’s doubles final, Shiho Tanaka and Koharu Yonemoto beat Naoko Fukuman and Kurumi Yonao 16-21, 21-19, 21-10 to win the title.

In a repeat of the India Open 2015 men’s doubles final, in an all-Indonesian affair, Marcus Fernaldi Gideon and Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo beat Ricky Karanda Suwardi and Angga Pratama 21-11, 21-15.