Chen, Marin tops World Champs seeds

The seedings for the August 10-16 event are based on the official world rankings as of July 23. 

World number one Chen continues lead the men's rankings after the Chinese superstar had another consistent season which included victories in three World Superseries titles – Yonex All England, Maybank Malaysian and The Star Australian Opens.

Currently Chen has 95,900 points, well ahead of Denmark's Jan O Jorgensen on 72,367. Yonex Sunrise India Open champion Kidambi Srikanth is seeded third, CA Indonesia Open champion Kento Momota is fourth and the ever-popular two-time Olympic Champion Lin Dan is the fifth seed.

Spain's Carolina Marin had endured the same level of success as Chen, having won the same three Superseries titles this year. Whilst Chen has been the world's top player consistently through the season, the battle for the honour of being the world's top-ranked female shuttler has been a far more even affair.

The Spanish player is currently on top of the standings with 80,612 points, while India's Saina Nehwal is on 79,191.

Two-time runner-up Li Xuerui is in third place and leads a strong Chinese contingent which includes 2011 World champion Wang Yihan (six) and Wang Shixian (seventh), while 2013 winner Ratchanok Intanon is seeded fifth.

Men's Singles seeds:

Chen Long (China, 1); Jan O Jorgensen (Denmark, 2); Kidambi Srikanth (India, 3); Kento Momota (Japan, 4); Lin Dan (China, 5); Chou Tien Chen (Chinese Taipei, 6); Viktor Axelsen (Denmark, 7); Wang Zhengming (China, 8); Son Wan Ho (Korea, 9); Kashyap Parupalli (India, 10); HS Prannoy (India, 11); Marc Zwiebler (Germany, 12); Hu Yun (Hong Kong, 13); Hans-Kristian Vittinghus (Denmark, 14); Tommy Sugiarto (Indonesia, 15); Rajiv Ouseph (England, 16)

Women's Singles seeds:

Carolina Marin (Spain, 1); Saina Nehwal (India, 2); Li Xuerui (China, 3); Tai Tzu Ying (Chinese Taipei, 4); Ratchanok Intanon (Thailand, 5); Wang Yihan (China, 6); Wang Shixian (China, 7); Sung Ji Hyun (Korea, 8); Nozomi Okuhara (Japan, 9); Bae Yeon Ju (Korea, 10); PV Sindhu (India, 11); Michelle Li (Canada, 12); Minatsu