Runner-up to Jamie Donaldson in Abu Dhabi last week, Rose had to be content with a four under par 68 after he was penalised a foot from the hole on the short 17th on Wednesday.
England's world number four had missed his birdie attempt and was addressing the ball ready to tap in when he noticed it moved a fraction.
European Tour referee Paul Carrigill, himself a former player on the circuit, was called and with no wind to blame for the change in position he imposed the extra shot and told Rose to move the ball back before continuing.
The incident did not unsettle him, however. After holing for a bogey four the 32-year-old found the green in two at the 589-yard last and two-putted for his sixth birdie.
One of Rose's playing partners was Ryder Cup teammate Martin Kaymer. He was playing with Tiger Woods last Friday when the American incurred a two-stroke penalty for taking a wrong drop and missed the halfway cut because of it.