World Cup winners to receive major prize money

The winners of the 2014 World Cup will receive prize money of 35million US dollars (£21.5million), FIFA has announced.

Brazil stadiums

The amount represents a 33 per cent increase to that paid to 2010 tournament winners Spain.

Even those countries that fail to get out of the group will receive 8million dollars (£5million) with every team also getting 1.5million dollars (£1million) towards preparation costs.

The amount of money given to clubs - the sum will depend on the number of players from each club - will rise to a total of 70million dollars (£43million), almost double that at the 2010 tournament.

comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular News

News & Update