Buriram edge Port; BEC Tero held

Defending Thai Premier League champions Buriram United kept alive their ailing title hopes with a hard-fought 1-0 win over relegation-threatened Thai Port on Saturday.

Ampaipitakwong shows a clean pair of heels.

By ESPNSTAR.com staff

Despite being expected to walk all over their opponents, the Thunder Castle struggled to find a way past their resilient opponents until 14 minutes from time, when Frank Acheampong netted what proved to be the winner.

To add insult to injury, Port were reduced to ten men in the 88th minute when captain Itthiphol Nonsiri received his marching orders.

Bangkok Glass failed to close the gap on fourth-placed BEC Tero Sasana after both sides played out a 1-1 draw.

Heading into the game at the Leo Stadium four points behind their opponents in fifth, the Glass Rabbits got off to a dream start when Teeratep Winothai fired them ahead after just three minutes.

However, Ghanaian midfielder Gilbert Komsoon equalised for the visitors a minute before the break, and with neither side able to find a winner in the second 45, both sides were left to settle for a share of the spoils.

Osotspa Saraburi continued their climb up the table with a convincing 4-2 triumph over Pattaya United at the Saraburi Stadium.

The hosts took the lead in the sixth minute when Japanese defender Hiromichi Katano ventured forward and scored, but Pattaya pulled level 13 minutes later through Cameroonian striker Kengne Ludovick.

However, Lazarus Kaimbi scored in the 59th and 62nd minute to put Osotspa back in control, before fellow Namibia international Tangeni Shipahu added a fourth to put the result beyond doubt, althoung Ludovick pulled one back for the Dolphins in the 69th minute.

Finally, BBCU were left entrenched in the drop zone after being held to a 1-1 draw by Police United.

Adisak Kanu fired the Pink Panthers ahead in the 13th minute, but Surachart Sareepim found the back of the net in the 77th minute to force a draw.

Saturday's Thai Premier League Results

Bangkok Glass 1-1 BEC Tero Sasana

BBCU 1-1 Police United

Buriram United 1-0 Thai Port

Osotspa Saraburi 4-2 Pattaya United

comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular News

News & Update