Singapore, Myanmar register Yangon draw

Myanmar were held to a 1-1 draw by Singapore in an international friendly match in Yangon on Tuesday night.

Irwan decides to let fly from distance!

Agu Casmir opened the scoring for the Lions in the 53rd minute when he latched onto a loose ball deep inside the penalty box and calmly placed his shot into the back of the net.

However, Myanmar responded aggressively and started to pile the pressure of the Singapore defence, and their persistence paid on ten minutes from time when David Htan volleyed a fierce effort past Izwan Mahbud.

Things got from bad to worse for the Lions six minutes later when left-back Shaiful Esah received his marching orders after picking up a second yellow, although the hosts were unable to make the most of their numerical advantage in the closing stages as both sides settled for a draw.

Speaking at the post-match press conference, Singapore coach Radojko Avramovic commented: "I think it was a good game for both teams today [Tuesday]. In the first half, we dominated the match and should have scored too. And in the second half, Myanmar dominated the match. 

"But I must say that although in second half we could see a few tired legs, I am happy with the team's will to fight and play. We are missing the goals but created the chances for them."

Midfielder Nazrul Nazari, who was handed his first start in the game, added: "I am happy to have gotten myself a spot in the starting eleven for this match. It was also a challenge for me playing in this match as I had to face taller and bigger players but I gave it my best till the end. It has been a good learning experience for me during this period with the national team."

Myanmar: Thiha Si Thu, Zaw Min Tun, Aung Thaik (Moe Win 82'), Yan Aung Kyaw (Naing Lin Oo 76'), Khin Maung Lwin, Paing Soe (Yan Aung Win 45'), Kyaw Zayar Win (Yazar Win Thein 73'), David Htan, Ye' Zaw Htet Aung (Kyi Lin 45'), Min Min Thu (Thein Than Win 53'), Kaung Si Thu.

Singapore: Izwan Mahbud, Shaiful Esah, Baihakki Khaizan, Shahdan Sulaiman, Fazrul Nawaz (Shahril Ishak 90'), Irwan Shah, Mustafic Fahrudin, Daniel Bennett, Nazrul Nazari (Jufri Taha 68'), Agu Casmir (Delwinder Singh 88'), Safirul Sulaiman.

comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular News

News & Update