Thailand rest Suzuki stars for King's Cup

A number of players that starred for Thailand in their run to the 2012 AFF Suzuki Cup final have been rested for the upcoming King's Cup.

Jakkapan sends a message to the hostile home fans!

By staff

The friendly tournament will see the War Elephants lock horns with Sweden, Finland and DPR Korea.

However, they will have to do without a number of key players after coach Winfried Schafer decided to rest the likes of captain Panupong Wongsa, goalkeeper Kawin Thamsatchanan, winger Jakkapan Pornsai and striker Teerasil Dangda, who is reportedly on his way to Spain for a trial with La Liga giants Atletico Madrid.

Nonetheless, there was a spot in his 28-man squad for Bangkok Glass striker Teeratep Winothai, the one-time golden boy of Thai football who was left out of the side for last year's Suzuki Cup after a disappointing season, as well as club team-mate Chatree Chimtalay.

Of the 22 players that were picked to play in Southeast Asia's premier international tournament last year, 14 have been included for the King's Cup, including influential midfielders Datsakorn Thonglao and Adul Lahso, exciting left-back Theerathon Bunmathan and centre-back Chonlatit Jantakam.

Schafer is likely to use the tournament to cast his eye on a number of youngsters ahead of the upcoming 2015 AFC Asian Cup qualifiers having called up eight players under the age of 21, including BEC Tero Sasana right-back Narubodin Weerawatnodom, Muangthong United utility Thitipan Puangchan and 19-year-old star Chanathip Songkrasin, who played at last year's Suzuki Cup.

Thailand squad for 2013 King's Cup

Goalkeepers: Sinthaweechai Hathairattanakool (Chonburi), Chatchai Budprom (Osotspa Saraburi), Yosapol Tiangda (Buriram United)

Defenders: Theerathon Bunmathan (Buriram United), Chonlatit Jantakam, Nattapong Samana (both Chonburi), Nataporn Phanrit, Narubodin Weerawatnodom, Peerapat Notchaiya (all BEC Tero Sasana), Prayad Bunya (Ratchaburi), Chaiwat Nak-iem (Army United)

Midfielders: Datsakorn Thonglao, Thitipan Puangchan, Sarach Yooyen (all Muangthong United), Sumanya Purisay (Chainat), Adul Lahsoh, Arthit Sunthornpit (both Chonburi), Apipoo Suntornpanavej (Osotspa Saraburi), Chanathip Songkrasin (BEC Tero Sasana), Attapong Nooprom (Buriram United)

Forwards: Kirati Keawsombut (PTT Rayong), Sompong Soleb (Bangkok United), Pipob On-mo (Chonburi), Surachart Sareepim (Police United), Chatree Chimtalay, Teeratep Winothai (both Bangkok Glass)

comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular News

News & Update