No place for Badhri in Malaysia AFF squad

Malaysia coach K. Rajagobal has named his preliminary squad for next month's AFF Suzuki Cup squad and once again there is no place for Kelantan captain Badhri Radzi.

ATM vs Kelantan: Badhri Radzi, Bruno Martelotto

By staff

Rajagobal named an initial squad of 28 players on Monday, with an additional seven reserves, and there are no real surprises with Harimau Malaya's star players all called up, including Pelita Jaya striker Safee Sali, Selangor captain Safiq Rahim, Kelantan goalkeeper Khairul Fahmi and ATM centre-back Aidil Zafuan.

However, there is no spot for Badhri, who continues to be ignored by the national team despite many calling for his inclusion after a stunning season at club level, where he led his side to triumphs in the Malaysia Super League, Malaysia Cup and Malaysia FA Cup.

Considering Kelantan did end the season winning the treble, including the Malaysia Cup on Saturday, it is perhaps understandable that five of their players have been called up, while Premier League champions ATM and Great Eastern-YEO's S.League outfit Harimau Muda are the next best-represented with four apiece.

With Malaysia's Suzuki Cup campaign only a month away from kicking off, fringe players like R. Gopinathan, Yong Kuong Yong and Zubir Azmi will all know they will have to impress greatly over the next 30 days if they are to have any chance of making the final cut.

Preliminary Malaysia squad for AFF Suzuki Cup

Goalkeepers: Norazlan Razali (Selangor), Farizal Marlias (Negri Sembilan), Khairul Fahmi (Kelantan)

Defenders: Bunyamin Umar (Selangor), S. Subramaniam, Nik Shahrul Azim (both Kelantan), Zubir Azmi, Faizal Muhammad (both Terengganu), Mahalli Jasuli, Fadhli Shas (both Harimau Muda), Amirizwan Taj Tajuddin, Aidil Zafuan, Azmi Muslim (all ATM)

Midfielders: Amar Rohidan, Baddrol Bakhtiar (both Kedah), Safiq Rahim (Selangor), S. Kunanlan (Negri Sembilan), Shakir Shaari (Kelantan), Azamuddin Akil, R. Gopinathan (both Pahang), Gary Robbat, Wan Zack Haikal (both Harimau Muda), Yong Kuong Yong (Felda United)

Forwards: Khyril Muhymeen Zambri (Kedah), Norshahrul Idlan Talaha (Kelantan), Zaquan Adha (ATM), Safee Sali (Pelita Jaya), Ahmad Fakri Saarani (Felda United)

Reserve List: Amri Yahyah (Selangor), Shakir Ali (Negri Sembilan), D. Christie Jayaseelan, Irwan Fadzli Idrus (both ATM), Ahmad Hazwan, Affize Faisal, Izham Tarmizi (all Harimau Muda)

comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular News

News & Update