Rooney apologised for Oscar tackle

Manchester United captain Wayne Rooney insists his studs-up challenge on Oscar was "accidental" although he apologised for the incident.

Rooney caught Oscar on the shin in the closing stages of United's goalless draw with Chelsea at Old Trafford on Monday, but was only cautioned by the referee.

There were claims in the media afterwards that the England international should have been sent off, but he is adamant there was no malice in his tackle.

"It was accidental. I knew straight away I caught him and could have caused him a bit of damage, so I apologise," Rooney told BT Sport.

"I apologised on the pitch, nothing was meant and I think the referee saw there was no intention of hurting him. He's given me a yellow card which I probably deserve."

Blues interim boss Guus Hiddink revealed after the match that Oscar had escaped serious injury.

"He got some whacks. I think he will be okay," Hiddink said in his post-match press conference.

Comments